Dallas Cowboys


Founded in 1960, the Dallas didn’t have a winning season until 1966. Following the 1966 season, the ‘Boys have since become known as America’s Team, winning five Super Bowls and appearing in eight during that timespan, along with more close calls and thrilling finishes than any other NFL franchise.

From 1966 to 1973, the Cowboys won six straight division titles (seven in eight seasons), made eight straight playoff appearances, and played in two Super Bowls, winning Super Bowl VI against the Miami Dolphins in 1971.

From 1975 to 1978, the Cowboys played in three more Super Bowls, losing twice to the Pittsburgh Steelers and their Steel Curtain dynasty while defeating the Denver Broncos in 1977.

Ezekiel Elliott (left) and Dak Prescott (right) hope to emulate what Staubach, Dorsett, and later Troy Aikman and Emmitt Smith did to lead the Cowboys to a combined five Super Bowl titles. Photo By Keith Allison.

In the 1970s, players like Roger Staubach and Tony Dorsett fueled what was arguably the second best team of the decade behind Pittsburgh. They saw four more NFC East Championships between 1976 and 1979, while finishing in second place at worst in the NFC East from 1975 to 1983, appearing in three more NFC Championship Games in a 1980 loss to the Philadelphia Eagles, a 1981 loss to the San Francisco 49ers, and a third loss in 1982 to the Washington Redskins.

After winning one more NFC East Championship in 1985, the Cowboys struggled, where new owner Jerry Jones fired longtime head coach Tom Landry following the 1988 season, hiring Jimmy Johnson and drafting UCLA quarterback Troy Aikman with the Number One Overall Pick in 1989 to pair with budding receiver Michael Irvin.

In 1990, the still struggling Cowboys drafted University of Florida running back Emmitt Smith as the third man in a trio, along with Aikman and Irvin, known as The Triplets.

After making more improvements on both sides of the football, The Triplets led the Cowboys to three Super Bowl Championships in four seasons, defeating the Buffalo Bills in 1992 and 1993 by a score of 52-17 and 30-13, respectively.

After a narrow loss in the 1994 NFC Championship Game against the San Francisco 49ers, the Cowboys again clinched a Super Bowl berth in 1995, exerting revenge on two Super Bowl losses in the 1970s by defeating the Pittsburgh Steelers in Super Bowl XXX.

After losing in the NFC Divisional Playoffs in 1996 to the then-expansion Carolina Panthers, the Cowboys dynasty ended in 1997 with a 6-10 record. In 1999, Michael Irvin announced his retirement, followed by Troy Aikman a year later.

Smith remained with the Cowboys through three straight 5-11 seasons from 2000-2002, becoming the NFL’s All-Time Leading Rusher in the process before finishing his career in Arizona with the Cardinals in 2003-2004.

After a carousel of quarterbacks that featured Quincy Carter, Chad Hutchinson, Drew Henson, Vinny Testaverde, Ryan Leaf, Clint Stoerner, and Drew Bledsoe, among others, the Cowboys found another franchise quarterback in Tony Romo during the 2006 season.

Romo led the Cowboys to their first NFC East Championship in 2007, and another in 2009. However, Romo’s career, despite numerous accomplishments, was tarnished due to his inability to take the Cowboys back to even an NFC Championship Game, as well as fourth-quarter mishaps that cost the team games in both the regular season and postseason.

Tony Romo (9), served as the Cowboys franchise quarterback from 2006 to 2015.

Romo led the Cowboys to one more NFC East Championship and playoff appearance in 2014 before sustaining an injury in 2015, sidelining him for most of the season as the Cowboys finished 4-12, their worst record since 1989 when they finished 1-15.

Another injury to Romo led to the Cowboys turning to then-rookie, fourth-round pick Dak Prescott, who shocked the league along with fellow rookie Ezekiel Elliott. The two rookies led the Cowboys to a 13-3 record and another NFC East Title, but lost a thriller to the Green Bay Packers.

After a lean year in 2017, Prescott and Elliott led the Cowboys back to the playoffs and another NFC East Championship in 2018, winning in the Wildcard Playoffs before losing to eventual NFC Champion, the Los Angeles Rams in the Divisional Playoffs.

While the Cowboys have yet to reach an NFC Championship Game since their 1995 Super Bowl Championship, the nucleus is again in place, especially after the return of formerly retired tight end Jason Witten, one of the best to ever play the game.

Shop the newest Dallas Cowboys fan gear at Fanatics!

Dallas Cowboys Quick Hits



Home Field

AT&T Stadium, Arlington, Texas


Royal blue, navy blue metallic silver




America’s Team



NFC Championships


Notable Players

Tony Dorsett, Rodger Staubach, Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith, Tony Romo

Worth Mentioning

First team to win three Super Bowls in four seasons.

Notable Helmets

Main Article: Dallas Cowboys Helmet History 

1960 – 1963




Notable Jerseys

Main Article: History of the Dallas Cowboys Jersey


1970s Dallas Cowboys


Modernized Throwback

Cowboys modernized throwback


1994 Double Star


1995 Double Star

Cowboys 1995 Double Star Jerseys


Current Home

Cowboys current home jerseys


Current Road

Cowboys Current Road


Color Rush

Cowboys Color Rush

Shop for Authentic Autographed Cowboys Collectibles at SportsMemorabilia.com