Kansas City Chiefs


The current Kansas City Chiefs Helmet

The Kansas City Chiefs began play as the Dallas Texans in 1960, compiling an 11-3 record and an AFL Championship during their final season in Dallas in 1962.

After moving to Kansas City, the Chiefs continued their winning ways by appearing in the AFL-NFL World Championship Game, today known as Super Bowl I, in a 35-10 loss to the Green Bay Packers. The tiny misfortune would be short-lived, as the Chiefs rebounded in a 23-7 Super Bowl IV victory over the Minnesota Vikings to cap off the 1969 AFL-NFL season.

Alex Smith helped bring the Chiefs back to prominence between 2013 and 2017.

However, the Super Bowl IV Championship would be the Chiefs’ final playoff victory until 1991 when they defeated their AFC West Division rival, the Oakland (then Los Angeles) Raiders. The Chiefs returned to the playoffs in 1992 and 1993, making an appearance in the AFC Championship Game in a losing effort to the Buffalo Bills.

The Chiefs again would face struggles for the next thirteen seasons, losing seven straight playoff games in that timespan, including falling victim to the Indianapolis Colts on Wildcard Weekend in 2013 after blowing a 38-10 lead in the third quarter in what it the second largest comeback in NFL playoff history.

However, the team’s lackluster performance in the playoffs would be short-lived, as in 2015 the team scored their first playoff win since 1993 in a blowout win against the Houston Texans. Two more seasons of one-and-done playoff appearances plagued the Chiefs, including another heartbreaker in 2017, this one to the Tennessee Titans.

MVP Patrick Mahomes is looking to take the Chiefs to a place they haven’t been in 50 seasons.

In 2018, things changed for the better as second-year quarterback Patrick Mahomes stepped in as the starter and took the league by storm, earning NFL MVP honors and setting a record for most touchdown passes thrown by a second-year quarterback with 50, breaking the previous record of 48 held by Dan Marino.

Mahomes led the Chiefs to the team’s first-ever AFC Championship Game played at Arrowhead Stadium, losing in overtime to eventual Super Bowl Champion, the New England Patriots.

While the Chiefs fell short of their goal, they’re favorites here in 2019 with arguably the league’s most explosive offense led by whom many believe is the best player in the NFL.

In 2019, the Chiefs lived up to the hype and after three come-from-behind playoff victories, they were crowned Super Bowl LIV Champions, their first Super Bowl Championship since Super Bowl IV.

Shop the newest Kansas City Chiefs fan gear at Fanatics!


Kansas City Chiefs Quick Hits



Home Field

Arrowhead Stadium, Kansas City, Missouri


Red, gold





AFC Championships

2 (as AFL) 1 (as AFC)

Notable Players

Priest Holmes, Len Dawson, Derrick Thomas, Emmitt Thomas

Worth Mentioning

Appeared in Super Bowl I against the Green Bay Packers.

Notable Helmets

Main Article: Kansas City Chiefs Helmet History

1960-1962 as the Dallas Texans

1960-1962 Dallas Texans


1963-1973 Kansas City Chiefs


Notable Jerseys

Main Article: History of the Kansas City Chiefs Jersey



Chiefs current road jersey


Chiefs current home jersey

Shop for Authentic Autographed Chiefs Collectibles at SportsMemorabilia.com