Los Angeles Rams


2020 Los Angeles Rams Helmet

The Los Angeles Rams began their ‘journey team’ existence in Cleveland, Ohio as the Cleveland Rams in 1936, winning their first NFL Championship in 1945 over the Washington Redskins. To make way for the “expansion” Cleveland Browns, who joined the rival All-America Football Conference (AAFC), the team moved to Los Angeles to avoid competition with the more popular (and more successful) dynasty of the era.

Steven Jackson (39) was one of the few bright spots of the St. Louis Rams’ struggles from 2004-2012, a few years before the team returned to Los Angeles. Photo by John Martinez Pavliga.

After losing the 1949 NFL Championship to the Philadelphia Eagles, things came to a head with the Browns (now part of the NFL) in 1950, losing to the upstart Browns in the 1950 NFL Championship, which was also the Browns’ inaugural NFL season.

Not to be debunked for long, the Rams came back in 1951 and took the NFL Championship back from Cleveland the next season, winning the game 24-17. The Rams and Browns would face off one more time in the 1955 NFL Championship, with the Rams getting slaughtered by the Browns 38-14.

The Rams wouldn’t win again until winning the NFL Coastal Division Championships in 1967 and 1969, however the team didn’t last in the playoffs. It set the stage for the 1970s, and under new owner Carroll Rosenbloom, the Rams won seven straight NFC West Championships, culminating with a Super Bowl loss to the Pittsburgh Steelers, ironically a rival of Cleveland’s and the Team of the 1970s.

In the 1980s, the Rams played in a pair of NFC Championship Games, but lost to the Chicago Bears in 1985 and the San Francisco 49ers in 1989, both blowout losses in a combined score of 54-3.

The Rams wouldn’t see another playoff appearance until 1999, when the team became known as the St. Louis Rams. In 1999, the Rams surprised the NFL in what became known as the Greatest Show on Turf when a grocery store clerk named Kurt Warner took the Rams to the Super Bowl and a win over the Tennessee Titans, earning Warner MVP Honors.

In 2001, the Rams made another Super Bowl and were heavily favored to beat some unknown kid named Tom Brady and the New England Patriots, but were upset by Brady’s Patriots in the process and the rest is history, kicking off a Patriots’ dynasty that has included six Super Bowl Championships, but more on that later.

The Rams made two more playoff appearances but after 2004, started a dry spell where they would never see another winning season again during their time in St. Louis.

Sean McVay, pictured during his time with the Redskins, has become instrumental in leading the Rams’ turnaround, with a regular season record of 24-8. Photo by Keith Allison.

In 2016, the Rams ventured back to Los Angeles, a city they called home from 1946-1994, and after a lean season, would win the NFC West Title for the first time since 2003 but went down in the Wildcard round to the Atlanta Falcons.

In 2018, a 13-3 Rams team won the NFC West and swept their way through the playoffs with some help in the NFC Championship Game from the officials, but nonetheless made it to Super Bowl LIII against a 41-year-old Greatest of All Time named Tom Brady and his New England Patriots, seventeen seasons after facing Brady in 2001.

In a surprising defensive struggle, Brady’s Patriots again knocked off the Rams in a 13-3 victory with what to date is the lowest-scoring Super Bowl in NFL history, ironically in a day and age when the NFL has morphed into an offensive-powered passing league.

Shop for Los Angeles Rams gear at Fanatics.com

Los Angeles Rams Quick Hits



Home Field

SoFi Stadium


Millennium blue, royal blue, new century gold, yellow, white




Mob Squad



NFC Championships


Notable Players

Kurt Warner, Marshall Faulk, Eric Dickerson, Deacon Jones, Isaac Bruce

Worth Mentioning

Returned to Los Angeles in 2016 after 22 seasons in St. Louis, where they won Super Bowl XXXIV.

Notable Helmets

Main Article: The Los Angeles Rams Helmet History

1964-1972 (Gray Facemasks), 2017-Present

1948, 1950-1999 (Gray facemasks until 1981), 2018-Present



Notable Jerseys

Main Article: History of the Los Angeles Rams Jersey


Rams primary 1964-1972 jersey


1973-1999, 2018-Present

Rams current home jersey


1973-1999 (1999 Super Bowl Version Shown)

Rams 1973-1999 Jersey



Rams 2000-2017 dark jersey


Current Road

Rams current road jersey


Color Rush

Rams Color Rush

Shop for Authentic Autographed Los Angeles Rams Collectibles at SportsMemorabilia.com