New York Giants


The New York Giants have a long, winding history dating back to their inaugural season in 1925. Just two seasons later, they were named NFL Champions in 1927. Their 1927 Championship set the stage for the 1930s and 1940s.

During the Great Depression and World War II era from 1933 to 1946, they went on to win eight NFL Eastern Division Championships along with nine NFL Championship appearances, winning two in that timespan.

After a lean decade, the Giants resurged in 1956 with six more NFL Eastern Division Championships over the next eight seasons with six more appearances in the NFL Championship Game, adding their fourth title while dropping their next five appearances.

The leanest of lean stretches came about following 1963 and bad football plagued the team from 1964 to 1980 when the team saw zero playoff appearances and just two winning seasons.

Their fortunes changed in 1981with a 9-7 record and first playoff appearance since before the AFL-NFL Merger and a few years later in 1986, won their first Super Bowl Championship and first NFL Title since 1956, along with their first NFC East Division Championship.

They won the Super Bowl again in 1990, this time over the Buffalo Bills in Super Bowl XXV, one of the greatest Super Bowls ever played to date.

After a brief return to mediocrity, the Giants saw another Super Bowl appearance in 2000, losing 34-7 to the Baltimore Ravens.

An up and down period seemingly struck the team until 2007, when they snuck into the playoffs with a 10-6 record. However, 2007 would be a memorable season for the Giants as they knocked off the then-18-0 New England Patriots in Super Bowl LII and securing their third overall Super Bowl Championship.

Eli Manning has won two Super Bowls with the Giants and has been the franchise quarterback since 2004. Photo By Keith Allison.

Just four seasons later, the 9-7 Giants again barely made the playoffs, defeating the Dallas Cowboys in a Week Seventeen matchup to secure the NFC East and a ticket into the playoffs. Even more enticing, the Giants again knocked off the Patriots for the second time in five seasons, giving the team their fourth Super Bowl Championship.

The Giants have only made one playoff appearance since, a one-and-done loss to the Green Bay Packers and have seen struggles in 2017 and 2018, finishing last in the NFC East on both occasions and seeing a combined 8-24 record.

The team has since been dismantled, with star receiver Odell Beckham Jr. getting shipped to Cleveland along with questionable drafting by General Manager Dave Gettlemen. Time will tell if the Giants can recapture their winning ways, or if they’re in for another lean period as was seen from 1964 to 1980.

Shop the newest New York Giants fan gear at Fanatics!

New York Giants Quick Hits



Home Field

MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford, New Jersey


Dark blue, red





NFC Championships


Notable Players

Eli Manning, Frank Gifford, Y.A. Tittle, Lawrence Taylor, Michael Strahan

Worth Mentioning

Won Super Bowl XLII, spoiling the New England Patriots perfect season.

Notable Helmets

Main Article: New York Giants Helmet History





Color Rush


Notable Jerseys

Main Article: History of the New York Giants Jersey


Giants 1981-1999 Home


Color Rush (1981-1999 Throwback)

New York Giants Color Rush


Current Home

Giants current home jersey


Current Road

Giants current road jersey



Giants red alternate

Shop for Authentic Autographed Giants Collectibles at