New York Jets


The Titans of New York were a founding member of the AFL in 1961, but they didn’t show much for most of their first decade in existence until Super Bowl III in 1968, becoming the first AFL team to defeat a heavily favored NFL team to claim their first and only Super Bowl Title in their first and only Super Bowl appearance.

But don’t let this discourage Jets fans. While the team lost in the Divisional Playoffs the next season to eventual Super Bowl Champion, the Kansas City Chiefs, they found the playoffs again in 1981 in a Wildcard loss to the Buffalo Bills.

The Jets made it all the way to the AFC Championship Game in 1982, losing to the Miami Dolphins. In 1985 and 1986, the Jets saw two more playoff appearances, the latter of which saw them losing in spectacular fashion to the Cleveland Browns in double overtime of the AFC Divisional Playoffs.

Lean seasons followed before Bill Parcells took over as head coach, leading the Jets to their first AFC East Championship in 30 seasons before falling to the Denver Broncos in the AFC Championship.

The Jets made four more playoff appearances from 2001 to 2006, winning another AFC East Title in 2002, but failed to advance past the Divisional Round.

In 2009 and 2010, the Jets finally broke past the barrier and advanced to their third and fourth Conference Championship in team history. However, they fell to the Indianapolis Colts and Pittsburgh Steelers, respectively.

Since 2010, the Jets haven’t seen a single playoff appearance, seeing just one winning season in 2015. However, with the additions of players like Sam Darnold, C.J. Mosely, and Le’Veon Bell, as well as stalwart Leonard Williams, the Jets may be on the verge of a decade of winning, especially as their top rival, the New England Patriots prepare for life without Tom Brady.

Will it finally be the Jets’ turn?

New York Jets Quick Hits



Home Field

MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford, New Jersey


Hunter green, white


Gang Green



AFC Championships

1 (as AFL)

Notable Players

Joe Namath, Keyshawn Johnson, Curtis Martin, Derrelle Revis

Worth Mentioning

Won Super Bowl III, the first major upset in Super Bowl history.

Shop for New York Jets gear at

Notable Helmets

Main Article: New York Jets Helmet History

Prior to 1963





New York Jets Helmet 1990-1997


Color Rush 2015-2018


New York Jets Helmet 2019-Present


Notable Jerseys

Main Article: New York Jets Jersey History

Prior to 1963












Shop for Authentic Autographed Jets Collectibles at