Tampa Bay Buccaneers


The Tampa Bay Buccaneers’ debut season was one of the worst in NFL History until the 2008 Detroit Lions broke the misery. Their first two seasons contained the worst two-season stretch in NFL history until the 2016-2017 Cleveland Browns shattered the record with a 1-31 span, 1-32-1 if you count the first two games of 2018.

Star Receiver, Mike Evans. Photo by Keith Allison.

Despite the struggles, the Bucs found themselves in the NFC Championship Game in 1979, in just their fourth season of existence before losing to the Los Angeles Rams by a score of 9-0.

1979 marked the team’s only playoff win until 1997, when the Bucs made five playoff appearances over the next six seasons, culminating with the team’s first Super Bowl Championship in 2002 over the Oakland Raiders.

2002 marked the last season the Bucs would win a playoff game, as they made two more appearances in 2005 and 2007, both leading to early exits.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers Quick Hits



Home Field

Raymond James Stadium, Tampa, Florida


Buccaneer red, pewter, bay orange


Captain Fear





NFC Championships


Notable Players

Ronde Barber, John Lynch, Mike Alstott, Hardy Nickerson, Warren Sapp

Worth Mentioning

Played inaugural season in the AFC West before switching to the NFC.

Notable Helmets

Main Article: Tampa Bay Buccaneers Helmet History

Shop the newest Tampa Bay Buccaneers fan gear at Fanatics!





Notable Jerseys

Main Article: History of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers Jersey



Buccaneers 1976 to 1996 home jersey.



1997-2013 Tampa Bay Buccaneers home jersey


1997-2013 Tampa Bay Buccaneers Road Jersey



2014-Present Tampa Bay Buccaneers Home Jersey


Buccaneers 2014-present road jerseys


Color Rush

Buccaneers Color Rush

Shop for Authentic Autographed Buccaneers Collectibles at SportsMemorabilia.com