Washington Redskins


The Washington Redskins haven’t sniffed even an NFC Championship Game since their last Super Bowl Title in 1991, but don’t let this keep you from thinking the team hasn’t been successful in the past.

They have, starting with three Super Bowl Championships within a single decade, the first coming in 1982, and the second in 1987, before the final, as mentioned above, coming in 1991.

But the team’s success in the pre-Super Bowl era was also rich, as evidenced by their two NFL Championships in 1936 and 1942, plus six Championship appearances from 1937 to 1945, one of which involved a 73-0 loss to the Chicago Bears, whom they faced in five of those games.

Then came 25 seasons of misery between 1946 and 1971, believed to be the longest stretch of any team in NFL history without a playoff appearance. The team only saw a handful of winning seasons and not a single Division Title.

In 1970, they broke their slump and appeared in the Super Bowl in 1971, losing a close match to the Miami Dolphins.

Jordan Reed has become a reliable target for the Redskins.

Throughout the 1970s, they made three more playoff appearances, but each was a one and done loss until 1982 when they captured their first Super Bowl Championship. The Redskins dominated the 1980s with four NFC East Championships, along with another Super Bowl victory in 1987 and a Super Bowl appearance in 1983, losing to the Los Angeles Raiders.

The Redskins saw one more Super Bowl victory in 1991 before they again spiraled downward throughout the 1990s, 2000s, and 2010s. Since 1991, they made only six playoff appearances, never moving past the divisional playoff round, along with only three NFC East Championships.

The team suffered a massive setback in 2018 after losing quarterback Alex Smith to a horrifying leg injury. After a solid start at 6-3, the Redskins collapsed to a 7-9 finish.

However, with young players like quarterback Dwayne Haskins, running back Derrius Guice, tight end Jordan Reed, and others, the Redskins again have a lot of youth and perhaps a new hope as they head into the 2019 season.

Washington Redskins Quick Hits



Home Field

FedEx Field, Landover, Maryland


Burgundy, gold





NFC Championships


Notable Players

Sammy Baugh, Sonny Jurgenson, John Riggins, Art Monk, Darrell Green

Worth Mentioning

Won both Super Bowls (1982, 1987) during strike-shortened seasons.

Notable Helmets

Main Article: The Washington Redskins Helmet History

Shop the newest Washington Redskins fan gear at Fanatics!



Redskins 1965-1969 throwback helmet.


Redskins 1970-1971 throwback helmet.



Redskins 1982 throwback helmet.


Notable Jerseys

Main Article: History of the Washington Redskins Jersey


1937 (modified)

Redskins 1937 Throwback



Redskins 1969-1979 Jersey



Redskins 1979-1999 jersey


Current Home

Redskins current jersey


Current Road

Redskins current road jersey

Shop for Authentic Autographed Redskins Collectibles at SportsMemorabilia.com